Oelrichs boys compete in Rapid City; Oelrichs presents Sports Awards

RAPID CITY – The Oelrichs track & field team sent three boys to last week's Rapid City Qualifier, including Carl Cortier, Denato Two Bulls and Jeeter Shockey.

For their highest placing events, Two Bulls and Cortier finished 41st and 42nd respectively in the discus with near identical tosses of 78-08 and 78-07 respectively.

Shockey meanwhile placed 12th overall in the long jump with a new PR (personal best) leap of 18-01.75, which was his highest placing event.


OELRICHS – At an event held at Oelrichs Schools on Monday, April 30, several Tiger student-athletes were recognized with the presentation of the annual Sports Awards. Following is a listing of most the awards presented.

High School Cross Country:

Jason Long Soldier - MVP Letter, State participation; Carl Cortier - Tiger Spirit/Letter, State participation; Toby Swallow - Participation/Letter, State participation

High School Volleyball:

Memoree Eagle Louse – Most consistent; Osheanna Mousseaux – Most improved; Patricia Carlow – Most energetic; T’lea Rouillard – Most consistant server; Baylie Her Many Horses – MVP-Defense; Natasha Swiftwater – MVP-Offense; Kyla Crow – Best All Around Player

High School Girls Basketball:

Davida Respects Nothing – Varsity & blocks; Jada Rouillard – Miss Playmaker; Memoree Eagle Louse – 3 Point Champ; Natasha Swiftwater – Miss Offense; Darrelyn Standing Soilder – Most Inspirational; Ariana Titus – Free Throw Champ; Baylie Her ‘many Horses – Miss Tiger; Kyla Crow – MVP

High School Boys Basketball:

Aaron Brings Him Back – Most Improved; JJ Brave Heart – Mr Hustle; Benny Benson – Most Versatile; Lewis Wilson – Hardest Worker; Zip Fast Wolf – Team Mate of the Year; Charlie Swallow – Co MVP; Jason Long Soldier – Co MVP

JV Girls Basketball:

Patricia Carlow – JV Miss Playmaker; Keanna Short Bull – JV Rebounds & Blocks; T’lea Rouillard – JV Miss Tiger; Angeleigh Twiss – JV MVP

Middle School Boy’s Basketball:

Justin Eagle – Best Team Mate; Ty Two Lance – Mr. Consistency; Cy Hughson – Most Improved; Tyler Swiftwater - MVP


Fall River County Herald Star

EDGEMONT OFFICE: 410 2nd Avenue   Edgemont, SD 57735-0660 | 605.662.7201
HOT SPRINGS OFFICE: 334 S. Chicago St.  Hot Springs, SD 57747 | 605.745.3930
Send news to: news.frcherald@gmail.com Send Ad requests to: ads.frcherald@gmail.com