Hot Springs Bison football team announces individual honors

HOT SPRINGS – Following their 7-2 record during the 2021 season, the Hot Springs Bison football team held its end-of-the-year awards banquet, where many individual honors were presented.

In addition to a successful win/loss record, the team also accomplished a number of milestones including a Black Hills Conference / Crazy Horse Division title as well as a pair of team records including Few Points Allowed in a Season (14) and Most Shutouts in a Season (7).

Included in the individual honors announced at the banquet were also Academic All-State, which was given only to seniors with a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5. Earning this honor was Logan Halls, Brynn Thompson and Carl Massa.

Thompson was also named a Class 11B All State Linebacker.

All-Black Hills Conference players were Brynn Thompson, Landon Iverson, Camron Maciejewski, Caleb Rickenbach, Logan Halls, Carl Massa and Trace DeBoer. Earning honorable mention were Chaney Klippenstein and Will Gilbertson.

Hot Springs resident Kel Lorenz was also presented the “Friend of Bison Football Award.” It was also announced the Lorenz also earned the South Dakota Football Coaches Association Friend of Football.

Following is a list of the other honors presented during the banquet:

Most Valuable Offense: Brynn Thompson

Most Valuable Defense: Camron Maciejewski

Most Valuable Offensive Line: Logan Halls

Most Valuable Defensive Line: Caleb Rickenbach

Most Valuable Special Teams: Will Gilbertson

Most Improved Player: Chaney Klippenstein

Most Valuable Scout Team/JV Player: Colin Iverson

Bison Award/Team Leader: Brynn Thompson

Letter winners:

Managers – June Abbott; Lillian Broyles; Jayla Evans; Javonte Madsen.

Freshmen: Vincent Irizarry; Aidyn Janis.

Sophomore – Camron Maciejewski Chaney Klippenstein; Blake Hanes; Colin Iverson; Caleb Rickenbach; David White; Kayden Hansen; Matt Close.

Juniors – Landon Iverson; Preston Iverson; Tyler Remington; Will Gilbertson; Dylan Webb; Blaine Goodsell.

Seniors – Brynn Thompson (4 year letter winner); Xavier Wright; Warren Russell-; Lane Witcher; Garrett Rhoe; Logan Halls; Hunter Haines; Trace Deboer; Carl Massa.

Fall River County Herald Star

EDGEMONT OFFICE: 410 2nd Avenue   Edgemont, SD 57735-0660 | 605.662.7201
HOT SPRINGS OFFICE: 334 S. Chicago St.  Hot Springs, SD 57747 | 605.745.3930
Send news to: Send Ad requests to: