Winter Sports Awards

By Aaron Eberle
On Tuesday, March 22, at 7 p.m., the annual winter sports awards was held at the high school
Lane Ostenson gave out awards for perfect attendance. Susan Ostenson gave out awards she had just received for volleyball. Jenna Ostenson and Maddie Peterson received honorable mention. Avery Van Eaton and Abbie Tidball received All Conference.
Dave Cortney gave out awards that he had just received for Football. Jared Refiro and Ryan Simons received honorable mention. Lathen Stevens, Dustin Curl, Lakay Refior and Jacob Johnson received all conference.
Coach Jay Darrow gave out certificates to the junior high wrestlers. Darrow spoke very highly of all of them and was proud of their accomplishments throughout the season.
Jared Webster head wrestling coach from Custer, had the opportunity to coach Chance Grill, Grant Darrow, and Breen Hanes through the new coop. Webster thought Hanes did an excellent job during the season, a shoulder injury slowed him down. Webster was proud of Darrow when he placed second at the Rapid City meet. Grill won several throughout the season, placed fourth at regional and went on to state.
Assistant JH girls basketball coach, Becky Peterson, gave out certificates for the girls. She congratulated the team for all of their hard work.
Coach Michelle Urban gave out certificates for the junior high basketball participants. She was thankful for assistant coach Gary Darrow and was glad that the high school boys and Joe Martin were there to assist when needed.
Lane Ostenson, girls basketball coach, spoke of youth on the team. Ostenson expects the girls to keep growing and is looking forward to the next few years.

Avery Van Eaton received awards for the most assists, most steals, most deflections and best three point percentage. Maddie Peterson had the best free throw percentage and most rebounds. Abby Tidball had the best field goal percentage and the most blocks.
Kimberly Moeltgen won the junior varsity most improved award, as well as the JV Mogul Award. Lizzie Tidball won the varsity most improved, while Avery Van Eaton won the varsity Mogul Award. Van Eaton was a recipient of a All West River Tournament award. Maddie Peterson was named the most valuable player.
Coach Joe Martin gave out basketball awards for the high school boys. Martin gave out awards for JV and varsity.
For junior varsity awards, Trevor Stokes won awards for most rebounds, most three point shots, and most assists. Jared Refior won the awards for most shots, most free throws, most points and most steals. Corie Andrie tied Refior with most steals. J.D. Berg had the most blocked shots. Clay Engelbert was the most improved JV player, while Stokes ws the most valuable JV Player. Berg received the JV Mogul Award. Martin was proud of Dalton Reutter for making every practice.
Lathen Stevens broke George Sedlacek’s record of most points in a game. Stevens had 46 points when they faced Oelrichs. Stevens also had a career record of 1,380 points.
Dustin Curl and Stevens won awards for West River All Tournament. Kaleb Darrow led the varsity team with most three point shots.
Stevens led the team with most rebounds, most block, most field goals, most free throws, most points in a season, most steals, most deflections and most assists.
Rhett Beard won the varsity most improved award, while Stevens won the most valuable player and the Mogul award. Curl and Stevens both received basketballs signed by their teammates for being seniors.

Fall River County Herald Star

EDGEMONT OFFICE: 410 2nd Avenue   Edgemont, SD 57735-0660 | 605.662.7201
HOT SPRINGS OFFICE: 334 S. Chicago St.  Hot Springs, SD 57747 | 605.745.3930
Send news to: Send Ad requests to: