Thies named Miss SD’s Volunteer of the Year

Courtesy photo

Judy Thies speaks after being presented with her  Volunteer of the Year award by President of the Miss South Dakota Foundation Board, September Kirby.


BROOKINGS – In an effort to recognize outstanding volunteers within the South Dakota Scholarship Foundation (SDSF), an annual award is given during the Miss South Dakota competition. The volunteer is honored and recognized during the final evening of the State competition, which this year was held in Brookings on June 4.

This year’s Volunteer of the Year is Judy Thies of Hot Springs, Treasurer of the Miss South Dakota Foundation Board. 

Judy has been a volunteer for 27 years, serving on the board of directors since 1996, as treasurer since 1997, and has also assisted with many local competitions. Judy was nominated by September Kirby, President of the Board of Directors, who said: 

“I am honored to nominate Judy Thies for 2022 Volunteer of the Year. Judy has served as the Treasurer for our state organization for many years – always with a smile and positive attitude.  The main duty of the treasurer is to oversee the financial administration of the organization and advise the board on the financial status. Not only does she fulfill these duties but is one of the first to step up and help in any capacity that is needed. She has mentioned “retirement” from the Board for several years, but it is understood that things would not work as smoothly without her in the role. She eagerly assists young ladies in getting their scholarship awards and works closely with Board members to pay bills and submit reports as requested. Judy’s positive attitude is priceless in bringing enjoyment to the working relationship. As a volunteer organization that people ‘choose’ to be a part of – Judy makes the time involved worthwhile. We may have started as collaborating board members, but we will forever be friends.”

Volunteers are the lifeblood of the Miss South Dakota Foundation, working throughout the year to support local competitions, organize the state competition, guide and provide leadership to candidates, as well as building the set for the competition, putting on the show, acting as Panelist hosts, and much more. They invest in our candidates by helping them increase their confidence and achieve their dreams. The Miss South Dakota Foundation thanks all of its volunteers for their many hours of dedication.

The award began in 2015. Past recipients include: 

2015 Kendal Braa nominated by the Miss Siouxland organization

2016 Gary & Pat Strausser nominated by the State Board

2017 Brett & Carolyn Knutson Family nominated by Ray Peterson

2018 Jeauleen Frost nominated by the State Board

2019 September Kirby nominated by the State Board

2020 None due to COVID

2021 Raymond Peterson nominated by many. 

2022 Judy Thies nominated by September Kirby.

Fall River County Herald Star

EDGEMONT OFFICE: 410 2nd Avenue   Edgemont, SD 57735-0660 | 605.662.7201
HOT SPRINGS OFFICE: 334 S. Chicago St.  Hot Springs, SD 57747 | 605.745.3930
Send news to: Send Ad requests to: