Redistricting Resolution_Town of Oelrichs


Town Of Oelrichs
Redistricting Resolution
Whereas, Fall River County is currently located in Legislative District 30;
Whereas, Fall River County has never been split into separate Legislative Districts;
Whereas, the entirety of Fall River County has been joined with Custer County and portions of rural Pennington County for decades;
Whereas, Town Board of Oelrichs, South Dakota believes that our citizens would be represented best if Fall River County remains entirely in one Legislative District.
Whereas, United States Federal District Court Judge Karen Schreier Ordered that Haakon, Jackson, Bennett and Oglala Sioux County joined in Legislative District 27 contrary to the Legislature’s Redistricting.
Therefore, be it resolved that the Town Board of Oelrichs, South Dakota hereby respectfully request that the South Dakota House of Representatives and Senate Redistricting Committees of the Legislature place Fall River County entirely within District 30 and leave the letter and spirit of Federal Judge Karen Schreier’s Order in place by keeping Haakon County in Legislative District 27.
Joseph Messinio, President
Town of Oelrichs Board of Trustees
Valarie J. Graf, Town Clerk
Town of Oelrichs, SD
Published once at the total approximate cost of $20.70
Published: Oct. 14, 2021

Fall River County Herald Star

EDGEMONT OFFICE: 410 2nd Avenue   Edgemont, SD 57735-0660 | 605.662.7201
HOT SPRINGS OFFICE: 334 S. Chicago St.  Hot Springs, SD 57747 | 605.745.3930
Send news to: Send Ad requests to: