Proceedings_Hot Springs School District March 4, 2020


Proceedings of the Board Of Education of the
Hot Springs District No. 23-2
President Bob Preuss called a Special Board Meeting of the Hot Springs School Board to order at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 4, 2020 at the Administrative Conference Room with the following members present: Zac Bell, Ryan Walz, Niki Shaw, Petra Wilson, Mark Walton, and Frances Stokes. Members Absent: None. Others present: John Pederson, DEC, staff and community members.
All actions recorded in these minutes were by unanimous vote unless otherwise stated.
20.142 Approval of Agenda - Motion by Walz, seconded by Stokes to approve the agenda. Motion carried 7/0.
20.143 Public Participation – Board had open discussion with staff and community members in attendance regarding the formation and responsibilities of the superintendent search Advisory Committee. John Pederson from Dakota Ed Consulting was on hand to assist the board and potential committee members with his experiences with other districts.
20.144 Conflicts Disclosure – None.
20.145 Stokes made motion, Wilson seconded to enter into Executive Session per SDCL 1-25-2(1) to discuss personnel at 5:54 p.m. Motion carried 7/0. Board president Preuss declared out of Executive Session at 8:09 p.m.
20.146 Walz made motion, Bell seconded to approve the list of members for the superintendent search committee. Motion carried 7/0.
20.147 Shaw made motion, Walton seconded to approve conducting a survey of district staff of desirable attributes in next superintendent. Motion carried 7/0.
20.148 Adjournment: Motion by Walz, seconded by Wilson to adjourn. Motion carried 7/0 8:12 p.m.
Dennis Fischer, Business Manager
Robert Preuss School Board President
Published once at the total approximate cost of $24.57
Published: March 19, 2020

Fall River County Herald Star

EDGEMONT OFFICE: 410 2nd Avenue   Edgemont, SD 57735-0660 | 605.662.7201
HOT SPRINGS OFFICE: 334 S. Chicago St.  Hot Springs, SD 57747 | 605.745.3930
Send news to: Send Ad requests to: